A Forgotten Drawing

December 12, 2011 § 3 Comments

By Jacqueline Austin

I just found out that a long-forgotten drawing of mine is in the Yale University art museum collection.  I was googling another artist, a friend who died ten years ago, and found this drawing along with his work.

This was just a student piece.  One day the art teacher came to me when we were drawing in class, and asked, “Can I have this one?”  It had no value to me and I said yes.  He asked me to sign it and I said, “Why?”  He said, “Because that’s what artists do.”  He took the drawing.

I didn’t know what he did with it!
This might be my only student work which survives.  My dad died during my senior year in college.  I was freaked out (this drawing actually was made right after the funeral–I had mononucleosis and was trying to catch up with schoolwork and money).  After graduation, I left all my belongings with a friend, who somehow vanished, leaving my things to be scattered among strangers.
Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to A Forgotten Drawing

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Forgotten Drawing at Jacqueline Austin.

meta

